About Board of Governor

The State Bar Association of North Dakota was formed by a group of lawyers meeting at the courthouse in Grand Forks in September 1899. The Association continued as a voluntary organization until it was made a mandatory bar by an act of the 1921 Legislative Assembly (apparently at the requires of the members of the voluntary association).

The mission of the Association is to serve the lawyers and the people of North Dakota, to improve professional competence, promote the administration of justice, uphold the honor of the profession of law, and encourage cordial relations among members of the State Bar.

The membership of the Association consists of every person who has secured a current annual license to practice law in this state from the State Board of Law Examiners, or who has an unrevoked certificate of admission to the Bar of the State of North Dakota and who has paid to the Association an annual membership fee as established by the Board of Governors.Members who are suspended or disbarred are thereby suspended as members of the Association during the continuance of such suspension or disbarment.

The officers of the Association are the President, President-Elect, and Secretary-Treasurer. The terms of office of the President and President-Elect are one year commencing at the close of an annual meeting and ending at the close of the next succeeding annual meeting. The term of the Secretary-Treasurer is two years.

The Board of Governors consists of: the President, the President-Elect, the Secretary-Treasurer and the Immediate Past President of the Association; the Association=s elected delegate to the House of Delegates of the American Bar Association; a representative from each judicial district of the State of North Dakota, determined according to procedures specified in the By-Laws; and the Dean of the Law School of the University of North Dakota.

The management of the affairs of the Association is vested in the Board of Governors. The Board of Governors may adopt, amend or rescind rules of general application to the membership, including, but not limited to, rules of professional conduct and continuing legal education, upon thirty days published notice of the substance of the proposed rule in an official
publication of the Association. Any such rule may be rescinded by action of the general membership upon resolution.

Board of Governors’ Members

Ms. Nancy J Morris
505 Broadway Street North, Suite 206
Fargo, ND 58102

Mr. Jack McDonald
220 N. 4th St.
Bismarck, ND 58502 – 1776

Mr. Jason R Butts
PO Box 38
Wahpeton, ND 58074-0038

Mr. James S Hill
316 N. 5th St.
PO Box 1695
Bismarck, ND 58502 – 1695

Mr. Scott D Jensen
PO Box 5849
Grand Forks, ND 58206 – 5849

Mr. Zachary Pelham
314 E. Thayer Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58502 – 0400

Mr. Levi Andrist
200 N. 3rd St, Ste. 201
Bismarck, ND 58501

Mr. Tony J Weiler
SBAND Executive Director
504 N. Washington
Bismarck, ND 58502

Hon. Gail H Hagerty
PO Box 1013
Bismarck, ND 58502-1031

Ms. Aubrey J Fiebelkorn Zuger
51B Broadway, Ste. 102
Fargo, ND 58102

Mr. Charles G DeMakis
1408 20th Ave SW, Suite 11
PO Box 1748
Minot, ND 58702-1748

Mr. Joseph A Wetch Jr
PO Box 6017
Fargo, ND 58108 – 6017

Mr. Matthew R Kolling
PO Box 1598
Dickinson, ND 58602 – 1598

Ms. Kathryn RL Rand
215 Centennial Dr. Stop 9003
Grand Forks, ND 58202 – 9003

Ms. Darcie Einarson
640 Hill Ave.
Grafton, ND 58237

Jeff L. Nehring
Nehring Law Office, PLLP
716 2nd St. W.
Williston, ND 58801


[expand title=”2013 Meetings” tag=”h1″ trigclass=”c3″ rel=”fiction”]September 14
August 28
June 14
June 12
March 16[/expand]
[expand title=”2012 Meetings” tag=”h1″ trigclass=”c3″ rel=”fiction”]No minutes available[/expand]
[expand title=”2011 Meetings” tag=”h1″ trigclass=”c3″ rel=”fiction”]No minutes available[/expand]